logo Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 22, 2018, 06:08:43 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
 News: Hello visitors. We are a spam free friendly lot and welcome new members. Your Vintage Outboarding is our interest. Please join us.
Spammers are Banned and Reported.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Glastron V-143 Jetflite  (Read 28177 times)
AaronJ
Board God

View Profile WWW
« on: December 04, 2013, 04:09:24 PM »

Ok, so you all know I have been tinkering away on Capricious for about 4 years now. In that four years I have not had a water-ready boat.

So, although I still plan to finish her one day, I decided this year I'd just buy a boat and get out to have a little fun.

Of course, I didn't want just any runabout. I wanted a known brand name (since capricious is an unknown) and I wanted an inline-6 Merc cira 1970s. I have to admit I'm more attracted to style and speed than functionality.

I've been looking for a while now, for just the right boat and the so NOT the right boat ended up on my garage yesterday.

I could not help myself and I now own a completely original 1968-70 Glastron V143 Jetflite and its original 1968 Merc 1000  Roll Eyes

And yes… its another project boat damn it.

BUT… the motor is a good runner (will give it a full going over first) and the hull is water tight, if not a bit run down. It'll be in the water by mid January.

* IMG_18411.jpg (292.29 KB, 1000x750 - viewed 685 times.)

MERCMAN
Administrator
Board God

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2013, 07:53:16 AM »

You old sea dog!

That hull is very similar to the famous James Bond boat that jumped over the car. It was a Glastron GT-150 with a 125hp V4 'rude. Cool
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cODPt3T0cHE

I plan to be in Melb' next Tuesday night. (flights are yet to be booked). If you can have a gearbox off any of your collection of motors by then, I'll show you the finer tricks when replacing an impeller.

MERCMAN.