logo Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 17, 2018, 04:55:14 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
 News: New Members, after 10 posts we allow you into the Special Members section, including  the "Todays News" topics"  And it's all FREE!

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Aluminium corrosion - repair & paint  (Read 3280 times)
ligure

View Profile
« on: May 17, 2013, 11:47:52 PM »

As this is my opening post on The Board I'd like to make a preamble and greet all members, expressing my appreciation for the valuable knowledge they share. I will also confess being a complete novice to boat maintenance, and apologise if some of my questions might seem simple to the more experienced members of this forum; I guess we all started somewhere (the search function first of all)

Now, question one:
I own a Savage Kestrel 400 aluminium hull and, although not vintage as some of the boats I read of on this forum, it needs some attention and being my first boat it holds a special meaning.
The gunwhales are fitted with press studs fixed with s/s fittings which caused electrolytic corrosion and bubbling of paint. I have removed the fittings and want to remove and stop any traces of corrosion; what would be the best method to do so, and what are some easily obtainable products?

Question two
To repaint the gunwhales after having cleaned the corrosion, I intend applying a thin layer of etch primer such as White Knight Rust Guard S.L.S that should also help stopping the corrosion and is easily obtainable from Bunnings; could I then apply a marine single pack paint as a final top coat or is an undercoat needed? I think Whitworths would sell both

Last question
How can I date the manufacturing year of the boat?
The riveted yellow plate on the inside of the hull simply reports basic performance data and the serial No.
Two previous owners before me and all I can gather is mid-late 80s

Many thanks

Ps. It carries a Mercury 20hp two strokes I dated to 1986